Sunday, May 28, 2017

Wide Bay’s Prime Minister

Posted by Jim on September 26, 2012

Andrew Fisher was the fifth Prime Minister of Australia and he represented Wide Bay from the very first federal election [1901 until 1915]. He was PM on three occasions: 1908–09, 1910-13 and 1914-15. He resigned from the Prime Ministership and Parliament in 1915 and was subsequently appointed Australia’s High Commissioner to the United Kingdom from January 1916 to January 1921.

You can catch up on a short film presentation on Channel 2 for the next 11 days at ABC i-View. This is part 5 of a series on Australia’s Prime Ministers.

Jim McDonald
Noosa and Hinterland Branch
Queensland Greens


Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Leave a comment, and if you'd like your own picture to show up next to your comments, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

home | top