Our Communities

Double Island Point

Our electorate is named after the district which takes its name from the bay sighted by Captain Cook on 18 May 1770.

It covers an area of approximately 12 428 sq km from Weyba Downs and Peregian Beach in the SE; from Fraser Island in the NE; from Booubyjan in the NW to the township of Cherbourg in the SW and Bella Creek in the south. Major population centres are Maryborough, Noosa Heads and Gympie. The World Heritage listed Fraser Island (the world’s largest sand island) is located in the Division. Our population includes 95,000 voters.

The main products and industries in our electorate are eco-tourism (Fraser Island and Cooloola National Park), whale watching, historical attractions (Maryborough), natural attractions (Cooloola Coast) timber, dairying, grain, grazing, sugar, tropical fruit orchards, and railway rolling stock (including Queensland’s ’tilt’ trains).

The Wide Bay Electorate includes the state seats of Noosa, Gympie and Maryborough. Greens members from across this electorate have combined to form the Noosa Hinterland / Wide Bay Branch of the Queensland Greens.

A map of our electorate can be found here